Inflatable Hong Kong // Hong Kong gonflable

Salut!

Only two papers and one exam left before freedom! My post-semester plans right now are to head down to Australia in early June and then head North back towards China throughout the month. Still, I shouldn’t get ahead of myself! I still have a very thrilling paper on The Importance of Cultural Differences in Resolving International Financial Disputes to write… Oh how I have grown to love the comfortable glow of dozens of computer screens in the computer centre.

Thankfully my deadlines are far enough apart that I’m not too rushed. Though I’ve been hanging around campus a lot, I have still been lucky to try two new restaurants that I would never have visited if I wasn’t with a Chinese-speaker.

En parlant de l’université, elle vient de dévoiler une nouvelle partie du campus. Enfin, les travaux de construction sont terminés! HKU est vraiment très jolie… mon université au Canada aurait une chose ou deux à apprendre des rénos qu’ils ont fait ici.Image

Image

Image

Hong Kong never ceases to amaze me. The city has a great nightlife. A great wildlife. It is always alive and bustling with people. And, well, it is also quite weird. I loved Rubber Duck. Very fun, and the message it is supposed to send it pretty fun.

These guys, though…

Image

Yeah. I know. Also…

Image

My roommate swears that this is supposed to be two larger-than-life pigs. The exhibit brochure delicately states that it “may or may not resemble human waste”.

Image

Welcome to the M+ Mobile Exhibit. The exhibit is held on the site of some future arts museum, and the inflatable sculptures themselves come from several Asian artists. It seems like every big city wants to be the next Art Capital of the World. Sorry, Hong Kong, I think New York is still ahead of you for now.

Image

I wish everybody a great week!

P.S. The Wong Fu Weekends video about Wong Fu Productions’s trip to Hong Kong is finally out on YouTube. If you’re ever watching it, try and spot the flashy blue backpack on the far right side. As I said in my earlier post about WFP, I’m sitting right beside!

Leave a comment